This Page uses Shopping Carts.

For purchasers who are unable or unwilling to have a Paypal Account, you may still click on the carts. After you are done shopping just copy-and-paste the whole invoice generated by Paypal to your HTML email and send it to stating your preferred mode of payment. I will then send you another invoice which will include the shipping charges.

The more items you purchase the lower the price.

Offer is subject to availability of stock.

Happy Shopping!

Historical Buildings - Lighthouses


Technical Details

Date of Issue 31.1.2004
Denomination 30sen x 4 designs
Stamp Size 30mm x 40mm

Miniature Sheet Denomination RM1

Miniature Sheet Size 70mm x 100mm
Stamp Size in Miniature Sheet 30mm x 40mm
Perforation 14
Paper SPM Watermarked, Phosphor Coated

Printing Process Lithography
Printer Percetakan Keselamatan Nasional Sdn. Bhd.

Designer Reign Associates Sdn. Bhd.




MNH Set of 4 Stamps


The Malay Federation was well known among the traders, and they called it the sate at the end of land. Its strategic location in the Asian Continent was well exemplified by the trading activities carried out. The Straits of Malacca also contributed to the importance of the Malay Federation as a trading and maritime centre.

When the Portugese conquered Malacca in 1511, the Straits of Malacca, for the first time, fell under a European power. The Portugese later charged ships which ply the Straits for payments. The arrival of the Portugese was an important watershed in the history of this region.

The lighthouses in Malaysia have its origin during the British rule since 1826. There were 15 lighthouses that were collectively known as the Straits Settlement Lighthouses. Among the lighthouses that are still operational are the Tanjung Tuan (Cape Rachado), Muka Head, Pulau Undan, Fort Cornwallis (formerly known as Fort Point) and Pulau Rimau.


Pulau Undan  Lighthouse

The Pulau Undan Lighthouse was built in 1880 at Pulau Undan, Melaka. It is the second lighthouse built in this country. The lighthouse has an octagonal shaped tower, built on top of a building. With a total height of 15 meters, the bright red tower can be seen from as far as 18 nautical miles in good weather. This lighthouse is located at  02°03'N and  102°20'E.

Muka Head Lighthouse

The Muka Head Lighthouse is the second lighthouse to be built in Penang’s waters. The construction of this gray granite tower was completed in 1883 with a height of 14 meters. It was built in the northwest of Penang Island and  located at  05°28'N and 100°11'E.

Permatang Sedepa Lighthouse

In 1874, Screw Pile lighthouse was launched. The name Screw Pile was given to the design of the lighthouse being built on top of metal piles buried as deep as 11 feet 6 inches. In 1907 it was replaced with a new structure called the One Fathom Bank Lighthouse.

This particular lighthouse has its origin in a report by hydrography survey, General Thomson, who reported the existence of a sand bank at the coordinates of 03°10'N and 101 °00'E, between North Sands and South Sands, in the Straits of Malacca. The sandbank emerges during low tide, with waters depth of not more than two and a half fathoms and is now being preserved as a memorial.

The new One Fathom Bank Lighthouse was completed in 1999. It has a 43 meter tower, and is equipped with the latest lighting system. Its pilot light can be seen from as far as 23 nautical miles. The jetty and building structures are made from concrete, while the tower is fabricated from metal. The roof is made from polycarbonate and polished metal. This new lighthouse is located parallel to the old one, at 02°53.3'N and 100°59.8'E.

Kuala Selangor Lighthouse

The Kuala Selangor Lighthouse was built in 1907. The 27 meter tower was built on top of Bukit Melawati, giving it a commanding view of the surrounding area. The pilot light can be seen from 18 nautical miles away. The construction of the lighthouse was believed to have been undertaken by the Federation of Malay States. The lighthouse is also known as the Altingsburg Lighthouse, in honour of the Dutch Governor who overran the fort in 1784. Besides the lighthouse, Bukit Melawati also has within its area various historical remains that serve as a reminder to the past.



Set of 4 Full Sheets






Specimen Miniature Sheet

Serial # 000000

Price - USD120




Miniature Sheet

Price - USD1.20


Tanjung Tuan Lighthouse

The Tanjung Tuan Lighthouse is the oldest lighthouse still in operation in Malaysia. The white cylindrical shaped tower started operating in 1863. With a height of 24 meters, its pilot light can be seen from a distance of 23 nautical miles. The Tanjung Tuan Lighthouse is located at  02°10'N and  101°51'E.




Set of 2 FDCs (Stamps + MS)

Price - USD3.50




Combo FDC  (Stamps with MS)

Price - USD4.99

Combo FDC (Stamps with MS)- with same Serial # Tab

Price - USD7.99

Related Issue

Date of Issue: 24th May 2003

Historical Places - Clock Towers

Watermark SPM. P.14 Des. Warna Ilham.

Litho by Percetakan Keselamatan Negara Sdn. Bhd.